My Favourite Song Currently: Shape Of You 

When Ed Sheeran’s latest single ‘Shape of You’ came out I gave it a royal miss. It’s going to be slow, the typical Sheeran music, I thought. 

Every time I opened YouTube, the song was in the recommended section. Three days back I gave in. 

The official video had more than 180 million views. There were several dance numbers dedicated to it, and the song had become a chartbuster. I had to find out what it was all about. 

Ten seconds into the song the beats got me. It’s my kinda song, I said to myself. A few more seconds later I was totally loving it. And I loved the fact the video had a black woman portraying Ed’s lover. There was a lot of appreciation from online commentators below. 

The lyrics are simple yet real. A club isn’t the best place to find a lover so the bar is where I go…reads the first line. 

“..your love was handmade for somebody like me..” is another. The video shows Sheeran joining a fighting/boxing club and falling in love with a girl there, who is herself a fighter. They share a few cute moments together before she leaves him leaving a mouthgear and a photo of a fighting arena. 

The video stars Jennie Pegouskie and retired professional sumo wrestler Yamamotoyama Ryūta, and Sheeran in a never seen before avatar. 

Shape of You is unlike any of Sheeran’ songs. It puts him in the pop genre and breaks him off his old soulful-singer persona. 

Here’s the song: 

Give it a try if you haven’t heard it already. 

Leave a Reply

