Rihanna’s VMA Acceptance Speech Was Everything 

She might be a bad girl, but she ain’t that bad. On Sunday night at the VMAs while accepting the Michael Jackson Vanguard Award, Rihanna gave a beautiful speech. 

“When I think about the Vanguard Award and receiving this tonight, all I could think of was my country. They’re going to be so proud. This is the first Vanguard to land anywhere close to my country”, she said in her acceptance speech. ” My success is not my own. It is my family’s. It is my fan’s. It’s the Carribean’s as a whole. It’s women’s, it’s black women’s”. 

Rihanna then thanked her directors for their efforts, and taking a chance on her. She thanked her team, everyone who has helped her along in her eleven year long career. 

And then she thanked her best friends. “My best friends never left me. They actually followed my ass here to America, getting on my nerves. They are here right now, witnessing this. This is a big moment”. 

At the very end, Riri thanked the man for saying some very beautiful words. 

“Thank you, Drake, for that amazing speech”

Leave a Reply

